LOGAN CUP: Tuskers crowned champions

Matabeleland Tuskers are 2014-15 Logan Cup champions after completing victory over 2013-14 champions Mountaineers in Bulawayo.

Resuming 120 runs ahead on 259 for seven, Mountaineers’ last three wickets could add on a further 16 runs. Key man Kevin Kasuza was bowled by Brian Vitori, with John Nyumbu then picking up the last two wickets to finish with figures of six for 96.

With only 137 needed, it was always Tuskers’ to lose. They made heavy weather of it first up as Shingi Masakadza sent both openers packing with 29 on the board and leg-spinner Natsai M’shangwe removed Keith Dabengwa and Brian Chari to leave them 68 for four. Wicket-keeper Richmond Mutumbami played the match and trophy-winning innings. He smashed 10 boundaries – including wrapping things up with a six off Tapiwa Mufudza – to end of 72 off 68 balls. His captain Godwill Mamhiyo, who has won many plaudits throughout the season, was at the other end on 19.

The result means that the last round of matches will be largely irrelevant, as was Mid West Rhinos’ win yesterday. Rhinos overseas player and talisman Brad Wadlan tweeted his congratulations to the Tuskers team.

Daniel Grummitt

Cricket Writer at World Cricket Badger
Daniel first began writing about cricket in 2011, having been a fan of the game ever since his Grandad introduced him to it at the age of 10.

He worked for CricketWorld.com for almost three years, leading their county and domestic cricket coverage and contributing to a book about the 2012 ICC World Twenty20, before joining the hugely ambitious World Cricket Badger early in 2014.

The first Test that he remembers watching was on Channel 4 - back before the ECB marginalised potential future fans by selling the TV rights to Sky Sports - when England beat Pakistan by an innings and nine runs at Lord’s.

Besides a passion for domestic cricket, he also has an unexplainable interest in all things Zimbabwe cricket!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>