LVCC PREVIEW: Durham and Lancashire meet in crucial clash

The four bottom sides from Division One are in action tomorrow in the LV= County Championship. We preview those games, as well as the Division Two encounters.

Division One

Durham v Lancashire at Chester-le-Street

As things stand, these are the two sides that are likely to be battling to avoid the final relegation spot come the end of the season so a win for either would almost count double. Durham have added Paul Coughlin and Gavin Main to the eleven that drew last time out against Middlesex. Graham Onions (back) and Jamie Harrison (knee) remain injured.

Durham squad: Mark Stoneman, Keaton Jennings, Scott Borthwick, Michael Richardson, Ben Stokes, Paul Collingwood (captain), Gordon Muchall, Phil Mustard (wicket-keeper), John Hastings, Mark Wood, Chris Rushworth, Paul Coughlin, Gavin Main.

Lancashire will hand a club debut to new overseas signing Usman Khawaja, with Andrea Agathangelou the man most likely to make way in a straight swap from number three. Wayne White is once again named in the 13-man squad.

Lancashire squad: Paul Horton, Alex Davies, Usman Khawaja, Ashwell Prince, Steven Croft, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Tom Smith, Glen Chapple (captain), Kyle Hogg, Kabir Ali, Simon Kerrigan, Wayne White, Andrea Agathangelou.

Northamptonshire v Warwickshire at Wantage Road

The hosts, who sit bottom of Division One, could make changes to their side, with David Willey and Olly Stone both strong possibilities to start.

Northamptonshire squad: TBC

Warwickshire have a welcome return from injury for skipper Jim Troughton after the club captain proved his fitness with a century for the second XI recently against Durham. Jonathan Trott also made a ton in that game, but is still not considered ready for the demands of first-team cricket, while Ian Westwood and Oliver Hannon-Dalby remain unavailable. Chris Woakes returns from international duty with England, with the Bears management set for a tough decision on the final balance of their side as a result. Will one of the bowlers miss out in order to leave room for Sam Hain or Laurie Evans?

Warwickshire squad: Varun Chopra, William Porterfield, Ateeq Javid, Jim Troughton (captain), Tim Ambrose (wicket-keeper), Chris Woakes, Rikki Clarke, Keith Barker, Jeetan Patel, Chris Wright, Boyd Rankin, Sam Hain, Laurie Evans, Jonathon Webb.

Division Two

Derbyshire v Surrey at County Ground

Derbyshire finally tasted victory last time out against Leicestershire and have named an unchanged 12-man squad as a result, with Mark Turner and Tom Taylor vying for the final place in the eleven and the departing Tim Groenewald again omitted.

Derbyshire squad: Stephen Moore, Paul Borrington, Wayne Madsen (captain), Marcus North, Scott Elstone, Alex Hughes, Gareth Cross (wicket-keeper), David Wainwright, Tony Palladino, Mark Footitt, Tom Taylor, Mark Turner.

Surrey have added Tom Curran to the eleven that played out a curious draw with Gloucestershire in their last match. Curran missed that game because of exam commitments and could possibly push Jade Dernbach out of the starting eleven.

Surrey squad: Rory Burns, Zafar Ansari, Hashim Amla, Vikram Solanki, Steven Davies, Jason Roy, Gary Wilson (captain, wicket-keeper), Gareth Batty, Tom Curran, Chris Tremlett, Matt Dunn, Jade Dernbach.

Glamorgan v Kent at Cardiff

Glamorgan and Kent have one win apiece from seven games thus far in 2014.

Glamorgan squad: TBC

Kent have made two changes to their 12-man squad, with Sam Northeast rested “to work on his batting for red-ball cricket” after scoring only three runs against Essex and Calum Haggett pushing David Griffiths out from 12th man duties. Fabian Cowdrey will take Northeast’s place in the starting eleven.

Kent squad: Daniel Bell-Drummond, Rob Key (captain), Fabian Cowdrey, Brendan Nash, Ben Harmison, Darren Stevens, Sam Billings (wicket-keeper), Adam Ball, Mitchell Claydon, Adam Riley, Doug Bollinger, Calum Haggett.

Hampshire v Essex at Southampton

The hosts came off second best in a drawn game last time out against Worcestershire, but do welcome back Kyle Abbott to strengthen their seam attack, meaning that fellow overseas player Glenn Maxwell must sit out. Adam Wheater may also return at the expense of David Balcombe.

Hampshire squad: Michael Carberry, Jimmy Adams (captain), Will Smith, James Vince, Adam Wheater, Sean Ervine, Michael Bates (wicket-keeper), Matt Coles, Kyle Abbott, Danny Briggs, James Tomlinson, David Balcombe.

Essex are likely to welcome back Reece Topley into their eleven from the draw against Kent. Tom Moore is expected to sit out.

Essex squad: Nick Browne, Tom Westley, Ravi Bopara, Jesse Ryder, Ryan ten Doeschate, Ben Foakes, James Foster (captain, wicket-keeper), David Masters, Reece Topley, Monty Panesar, Tymal Mills, Tom Moore.

Leicestershire v Worcestershire at Grace Road

The hosts welcome the leaders as they search for their first win of the 2014 campaign. Not helped by injuries, they have recruited Richard Jones on loan from Warwickshire to play against his former county. Nathan Buck and Charlie Shreck return from injury, although Ollie Freckingham, Alex Wyatt and Shiv Thakor remain sidelined. Dan Redfern and Matthew Boyce are both included in a 14-man squad; either could push Greg Smith out of the side, while Rob Taylor is not included.

Leicestershire squad: Greg Smith, Angus Robson, Ned Eckersley, Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain), Josh Cobb, Niall O’Brien (wicket-keeper), Ben Raine, Richard Jones, Nathan Buck, Charlie Shreck, James Sykes, Anthony Ireland, Dan Redfern, Matthew Boyce.

Worcestershire have added Tom Kohler-Cadmore to the eleven that performed so well against Hampshire.

Worcestershire squad: Daryl Mitchell (captain), Matt Pardoe, Tom Fell, Alexei Kervezee, Ross Whiteley, Ben Cox (wicket-keeper), Joe Leach, Shaaiq Choudhry, Jack Shantry, Saeed Ajmal, Charlie Morris, Tom Kohler-Cadmore.

Daniel Grummitt

Cricket Writer at World Cricket Badger
Daniel first began writing about cricket in 2011, having been a fan of the game ever since his Grandad introduced him to it at the age of 10.

He worked for for almost three years, leading their county and domestic cricket coverage and contributing to a book about the 2012 ICC World Twenty20, before joining the hugely ambitious World Cricket Badger early in 2014.

The first Test that he remembers watching was on Channel 4 - back before the ECB marginalised potential future fans by selling the TV rights to Sky Sports - when England beat Pakistan by an innings and nine runs at Lord’s.

Besides a passion for domestic cricket, he also has an unexplainable interest in all things Zimbabwe cricket!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>