IPL 2014: Yuvraj, Karthik and KP attract the big money on day one

Day one of the 2014 Indian Premier League (IPL) auction saw 514 players go under the hammer as the eight franchises jostled for supremacy. But the process seems the antithesis of everything Twenty20 stands for.

Mumbia Indians were the IPL champions in 2013

As a raft of no bids saw the day peter out into a rather stale affair the franchises are now able to request which of the players that received no bids should be returned under the hammer tomorrow. Why on earth could that process not have preceded today’s marathon of ‘who’s he?’ and ‘what are they playing at?’


Yuvraj Singh ($2.33m to Royal Challengers Bangalore), Dinesh Karthik ($2.08m to Delhi Daredevils) were the stand out buys on the first morning of the seventh IPL auction in Bangalore. Yuvraj and Karthik were part of the 16-player marquee lot that commenced proceedings.

Kevin Pietersen, now available for the entire tournament after being dumped by England, was snapped up by his former franchise, Delhi Daredevils, who produced their right-to-match card to buy him at $1.5 million.

Top Buys

Team Player Price
Royal Challengers Bangalore Yuvraj Singh ₹14,00,00,000
Delhi Daredevils Dinesh Karthik ₹12,50,00,000
Delhi Daredevils Kevin Pietersen ₹9,00,00,000
Kings XI Punjab Mitchell Johnson ₹6,50,00,000
Kings XI Punjab Glenn Maxwell ₹6,00,00,000
Kolkata Knight Riders Jacques Kallis ₹5,50,00,000
Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner ₹5,50,00,000
Kolkata Knight Riders Robin Uthappa ₹5,00,00,000


The Pathan brothers, Yusuf and Irfan, saw a big decline in their 2011 values. Both players have battled recent injury

Yusuf was bought in the 2011 auction by Kolkata Knight Riders for $2.1 million. KKR used their right-to-match card to get him for $541,000 this time.

Irfan was bought by Delhi Daredevils in 2011 for $1.9 million, but went to the Hyderabad Sunrisers for $400,000 today.


Seven right-to-match cards have been played: Pietersen (Daredevils), Jacques Kallis (Knight Riders), Yusuf (Knight Riders), Faf du Plessis (Chennai Super Kings), Amit Mishra (Sunrisers), Darren Sammy (Sunrisers) and Pragyan Ojha (Mumbai) return to their previous employers.


Team Funds Remaining Rights to Match Overseas Players Total Players
Chennai Super Kings ₹2,90,00,000 0 7 13
Delhi Daredevils ₹8,60,00,000 2 5 13
KingsXI Punjab ₹14,20,00,000 1 6 12
Kolkata Knight Riders ₹9,00,00,000 0 4 10
Mumbai Indians ₹5,15,00,000 0 5 10
Rajasthan Royals ₹12,10,00,000 1 7 11
Royal Challengers Bangalore ₹1,80,00,000 1 7 12
Sunrisers Hyderabad ₹8,40,00,000 0 7 13

Maxiumum overseas players = 9. Maximum squad size = 27.

Yuvraj Singh attracted a bid of $2.33m. Many others went unsold.lensbug.chandru / Foter / CC BY


The franchises now pick the players that still interest them from a lengthy list of unsold players. There are some star names sweating on day two, but surely a different approach is needed to weed out some of the lesser known who realistically have no chance of gaining a contract.

Mahela Jayawardene, Ross Taylor, Naman Ojha, Matthew Wade, Craig Keiswetter, Kusal Perera, David Hussey, Angelo Mathews, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Praveen Kumar, Ajantha Mendis, Murali Kartik, Nathan McCullum, Robin Peterson, Cameron White, Darren Bravo, Alex Hales, Marlon Samuels, S Badrinath, Ian Bell, Tamim Iqbal, Martin Guptill, Lendl Simmons, Tim Paine, Kaushal Silva, Andre Fletcher, Dane Vilas, Denesh Ramdin, Prasanna Jayawardene, Luke Ronchi, Andre Russell, Dan Christian, Ravi Bopara, Luke Wright, RP Singh, Brett Lee, Munaf Patel, Suleiman Benn, Rangana Herath, Imran Tahir, Nathan Lyon, Suraj Randiv, Ramesh Powar, Brad Hogg, Akila Dananjaya, Neil McKenzie, Chris Lynn, Herschelle Gibbs, Ben Rohrer, Farhaan Behardian, Henry Davids, Adam Voges, Upul Tharanga, Hamish Rutherford, Abhinav Mukund, Johan Botha, James Franklin, Sachithra Senanayake, Andrew McDonald, John Hastings, Roelof van der Merwe, Jesse Ryder, Fidel Edwards, Manpreet Gony, Joginder Sharma, Clint McKay, Devendra Bishoo, Ashley Nurse, Fawad Ahmed, Nikita Miller, Nicky Boje, James Muirhead, Richard Levi, Colin Munro, Lahiru Thirimanne, Phillip Hughes, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Dean Elgar, Travis Birt, Kieran Powell, Luke Pomersbach, Neil Broom, Samit Patel, Vernon Philander, Jacob Oram, Christopher Barnwell, Farveez Maharoof, Dimitri Mascarenhas, David Wiese, Jeevan Mendis, Doug Bollinger, Pat Cummins, Jackson Bird, Pankaj Singh, Ryan McLaren, Dirk Nannes, Abhimanyu Mithun, Adam Milne, Shaun Tait, Wayne Parnell, Mohammad Kaif, Chamara Kapugedera, Adrian Barath, Rob Quiney, Hemang Badani, Jehan Mubarak, Justin Ontong, Wasim Jaffer, Dilshan Munaweera, Callum Ferguson, Dilruwan Perera, Mahmudullah, Grant Elliott, Rayad Emrit, Elton Chigumbura, Garey Mathurin, Angelo Perera, Danza Hyatt, Rikki Clarke, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, VRV Singh, Krishmar Santokie, Sudeep Tyagi, Kemar Roach, Marchant de Lange, Mitchell McClenaghan, Ben Laughlin, Tino Best, Jade Dernbach, Sheldon Cottrell, Jerome Taylor, Kyle Mills, Juan Theron, Nuwan Kulasekera, Simon Jones, Shaminda Eranga, Hamish Bennett, Ian Butler, Rory Kleinveldt, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal, Aavishkar Salvi, Isuru Udana.

James Buttler

James has been working as a journalist and broadcaster in cricket since 2006 and was an avid fan for many years before that.
As the editor of World Cricket Badger he is intent on building the website to give quality coverage of the domestic game around the world.
He is also the presenter of the Cricket Badger Radio Show on Radio Yorkshire every Tuesday evening between 7-9pm UK time.
James was the full-time Media Manager at Yorkshire County Cricket Club between 2007 and 2010.
James is a published author, a writer/video contributor to many cricket publications and a complete cricket badger!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>