IPL MATCH 9: Sanju Sansom scores century as Daredevils smash RPS into submission

REPORT: Sanju Samson hit a match winning hundred and Chris Morris blitzed 38 in 9 balls to batter Rising Pune Supergiant into oblivion.

Cricket Badger’s coverage of IPL 2017 brought to you in association with Bowling Master

Sanju Samson scored the first century of IPL 2017 and powered the Delhi Daredevils to a mammoth score, after which the DD bowlers took centre stage to dismiss RPS 98 runs short of victory.

After being put in to bat, Delhi Daredevils scored 205 for four, their first 200-plus total since IPL 2012. RPS were 108 all out in reply in 16.1 overs.

Samson entered the scene in the second over after Aditya Tare edged Deepak Chahar behind. The Kerala batsman began aggressively, scoring four boundaries in the first six deliveries he faced. He square drove Chahar to pick up boundaries off successive deliveries, and then hit AshokeDinda for boundaries on either side of the wicket at the start of the third over. By the time the powerplay had ended, Delhi Daredevils had raced to 62 for one and Samson had 35 from 19 balls, while Sam Billings had 21 from 12.

In the period after the fielding restrictions were relaxed and until the last five overs of the innings, Samson settled down to pick up singles and rotate the strike. In this period, Rishabh Pant took charge and scored 31 off 21 balls, studded with a boundary and two sixes. In the nine-overs period, DD added 61 runs losing the wicket of Billings (24). Billings is rapidy gaining the tag of a fine player who scores 20 or 30, but doesn’t capitalise on good starts.

Chris Morris’ strike-rate of 422,22 in the innings is the highest strike-rate in IPL in an innings of 25 or more runs.

As the end approached Samson hit Imran Tahir for a six in the 17th over and hit Ashoke Dinda for two maximums and a boundary in the eighteenth. At the start of the nineteenth, he hit Adam Zampa straight over his head and into the sight-screens to bring up his maiden T20 ton in style and became the 43rd centurion in the history of the IPL and the seventh by a DD player. Aged  22 years and 151 days he is the second-youngest to post a three-figure score. He paced his innings brilliantly and was eventually dismissed for 102, when his stumps were rattled by Adam Zampa.

Chris Morris bludgeoned the DD bowlers for four boundaries and three massive sixes in his 9-ball cameo which yielded him 38 runs. Chris Morris’ strike-rate of 422,22 in the innings is the highest strike-rate in IPL in an innings of 25 or more runs. In all Twenty20 cricket, there have been only three innings of 25-plus at a higher strike-rate. Courtesy of Morris and Samson’s blitz in the end, DD added 76 runs in the final four overs and finished with 205 for four. They were out of sight.

Not surprisingly, most of the RPS bowlers came in for stick. Deepak Chahar struck first delivery but that was the only success he had on the night, while Imran Tahir added one more wicket to take his tally of wickets in the competition to six.

RPS, without the services of their regular captain Steven Smith (illness), got off to a decent start with Ajinkya Rahane and Mayank Agarwal adding 24 runs in the first three overs. But thereafter they kept losing wickets at regular intervals, and were eventually bowled out for 108 in 16.1 overs. This was the first-ever occasion that RPS had lost all ten wickets in an innings and their lowest ever IPL total.

Delhi Daredevils were outstanding with the ball; their bowlers bowled good areas, bowled with good pace and were well supported by the fielders. It was the first-time ever that all ten batsmen were dismissed “caught” in the IPL Zaheer Khan accounted for the wickets of the openers and eventually finished with figures of 3-20, while Amit Mishra, introduced into the attack in the twelfth over, too finished with figures of 3-11. Pat Cummins picked up two wickets, while Shahbaz Nadeem and Chris Morris chipped in with a wicket each.

Delhi Daredevils: 205-4 (Sanju Samson 102, Chris Morris 38*, Imran Tahir 1-24)
Rising Pune Supergiant: 108 in 16.1 overs (Mayank Agarwal 20, Zaheer Khan 3-20, Amit Mishra 3-11)

Man of the Match: Sanju Samson


Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts
SRH 2 2 0 0 0 4
KXIP 2 2 0 0 0 4
DD 2 1 1 0 0 2
KKR 2 1 1 0 0 2
MI 2 1 1 0 0 2
RCB 3 1 2 0 0 2
RPS 3 1 2 0 0 2
GL 2 0 2 0 0 0
James Buttler

James Buttler

James has been working as a cricket journalist and broadcaster since 2006.
As the editor of Cricket Badger he is intent on building the website to give quality coverage of the domestic game around the world.
James was the full-time Media Manager at Yorkshire County Cricket Club between 2007 and 2010.
James is a published author and a writer/video contributor to many cricket publications.
He's unsurprisingly a complete cricket badger!
James Buttler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *