IPL MATCH 19: Bhuvneshwar and Warner see-off KXIP in classic contest

REPORT: David Warner made a careful 70 and Bhuvneshwar Kumar took five wickets as Sunrisers Hyderabad rediscovered winning ways against a plucky KXIP.

Cricket Badger’s coverage of IPL 2017 brought to you in association with Bowling Master

The Sunrisers Hyderabad defeat Kings XI Punjab by five runs on Monday despite a superb 95 from Manan Vohra who didn’t deserve to end on the losing side after his heroic knock.

At 62 for four KXIP’s chase of 160 to win was off the rails when Vohra got them so close they could almost taste the victory cigar. But when Vohra was lbw to an inspired Kumar in the penultimate over the KXIP were denied with two balls to spare.

David Warner took 27-balls before he was going at a run-a-ball in a knock that was pivotal to the Sunrisers’ success. He may have appeared slow but, with hinsight, he read the pitch magnificently to steer his side to a competitive total.

Warner was aided by a 20-ball 34 from Naman Ojha. The SRH captain did not hit a boundary and had a mere 6 runs from 16 balls at the end of the powerplay overs. The left-hander broke the shackles in the seventh over when he reverse-swept the spin bowler KC Carippa and picked up the first of his seven boundaries. In the ninth over, he hit the spinner into the stands.

At the half-way stage, SRH were 54 for three and seemed destined to finish below par, but Ojha provided much needed impetus and in the 14th he hit his first maximum. Ishant Sharma conceded 12 in the 15th, and SRH finally had some momentum to their innings; the hosts added 54 runs between overs 11 and 15.

David Warner was uncharacteristically patient for his crucial 70

Ojha was dismissed by Cariappa in the 16th, stumped by Wriddhiman Saha (who finished with four dismissals). Warner though stuck it out to the end; he scored 15 runs off six deliveries in the last two overs and remained unbeaten on 70, made from 54 balls, and studded with seven boundaries and two sixes. The SRH skipper had added 49 from 19 balls in the back ten overs of the innings. SRH went into the break on a high, with Rashid Khan hitting the last ball of the innings for a six.

At the start of the run-chase, KXIP’s backbone was broken by Bhuvneshwar Kumar. He trapped Hashim Amla leg-before first ball of the run-chase, and in his second over dismissed the KXIP captain Glenn Maxwell.

KXIP got back in the chase with a 41-run partnership between Manan Vohra and Eoin Morgan. Mohammad Nabi, who had conceded ten runs in his first over, returned for a second over and bowled Morgan. His compatriot Rashid Khan joined in the act and castled David Miller and Wriddhiman Saha in the following over, the 10th of the innings.

Vohra then played a lone hand; he kept his team in the contest and turned on the heat when all was nearly lost. He hit Barinder Sran for a four and a six in the fifteenth over, then took toll of Khan, hitting the leg-spinner for two fours and two sixes.

At the start of the 19th over, KXIP were very much favourites; the visitors needed 16 from two overs and had a well-set Vohra at the crease. But, Bhuvneshwar Kumar landed a timely yorker that rapped Vohra in front of the stumps. Vohra was dismissed for his career-best score of 95, made from 50 balls and decorated with nine fours and five sixes. That Morgan’s 13 was the second-highest score of the KXIP innings illustrates how dismal the visitors’ batting was.

For the hosts, who now have three wins out of three at home this season, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (5-19) was the wrecker-in-chief, while the two Afghan lads picked up a wicket each.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 159 for six (David Warner 70*, Naman Ojha 34, Mohit Sharma 2-25, Axar Patel 2-33)
Kings XI Punjab: 154 all out in 19.4 overs (Manan Vohra 95, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 5-19, Rashid Khan 2-42)

Man of the Match: Bhuvneshwar Kumar


Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts
KKR 5 4 1 0 0 8
MI 5 4 1 0 0 8
SRH 5 3 2 0 0 6
DD 4 2 2 0 0 4
KXIP 5 2 3 0 0 4
RPS 5 2 3 0 0 4
GL 4 1 3 0 0 2
RCB 5 1 4 0 0 2
James Buttler

James Buttler

James has been working as a cricket journalist and broadcaster since 2006.
As the editor of Cricket Badger he is intent on building the website to give quality coverage of the domestic game around the world.
James was the full-time Media Manager at Yorkshire County Cricket Club between 2007 and 2010.
James is a published author and a writer/video contributor to many cricket publications.
He's unsurprisingly a complete cricket badger!
James Buttler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *