BPL Rangpur Riders beat Barisal Bulls by 12 runs as it gets tight at the top

The Rangpur Riders secured their third Bangladesh Premier League win of the season, this time against Barisal Bulls by 12 runs.

eu_120x600_sixpadBarisal won the toss and accounted for Soumya Sarkar (14) and Mohammad Shahzad (14) by the end of the fifth over. A third wicket stand of 79 between Mohammad Mithun and Liam Dawson (46 off 36) went a long way to restoring the Rangpur faith. Mithun was the more explosive of the two as he hit 3 fours in four balls off Al-Amin Hossain. Mithun faced 44 balls for his 62 and hit a six of both Rabi and Mendis to add to his 6 fours.

A slower ball from Thisara Perera ended the stand in the 15th over, but 2 sixes and a four from a Shahid Afridi (22 in 10) cameo maintained the rate. The runs dried up towards the end of the innings, but the final total of 175 for six meant the Riders were controlling the match.

The Barisal reply stuttered immediately as the off-spin of Sohag Gazi grabbed a wicket in his first over for the third successive game as Dilshan Munaweera was strangled down the legside before scoring.

Gazi, who ended with figures of 3-19 from his 3.4 overs, had Shahriar Nafees stumped for 12. When Mushfiqur Rahim was then stumped by Shahzad off Dawson, one of three stumpings and five total dismissals from the keeper, a record in the BPL, Barisal were 48 for three after seven overs and the pressure was building fast.

Opener Jeevan Mendis (57 off 53) and Nadif Chowdhury (41 from 25) then added 74 for the fourth wicket as the latter took a liking to Sachitra Senanayake and belted three sixes of his 14th over of the innings.

29 were needed from the final two overs. Rubel’s first ball of the 19th went for six, but he then dismissed Rayad Emrit and Abu Hider.

Gazi returned with 20 required from the final over as Perera and Kamrul Islam Rabbi had their sights set on boundaries. But Rabbi was run out off the first ball, Taijul Islam hit the second for six, was stumped off the third and it was all over when Al-Amin was run out by some Arafat Sunny athleticism.

BPL TABLE (after 17 November)

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts
Dhaka Dynamites 5 4 1 0 0 8
Rangpur Royals 4 3 1 0 0 6
Barisal Bulls 5 3 2 0 0 6
Khulna Titans 4 3 1 0 0 6
Rajshahi Knights 3 1 2 0 0 2
Chittagong Vikings 5 1 4 0 0 2
Comilla Victorians 4 0 4 0 0 0


James Buttler

James Buttler

James has been working as a cricket journalist and broadcaster since 2006.
As the editor of Cricket Badger he is intent on building the website to give quality coverage of the domestic game around the world.
James was the full-time Media Manager at Yorkshire County Cricket Club between 2007 and 2010.
James is a published author and a writer/video contributor to many cricket publications.
He's unsurprisingly a complete cricket badger!
James Buttler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *