#UAE16: Tredwell and Borthwick in MCC Champion County squad

James Tredwell and Scott Borthwick have both been named in the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) squad for the annual Champion County match in Abu Dhabi.

The four-day match, which is the annual curtain raiser for the English county season, will be between MCC and Yorkshire and begins on Sunday 20 March.

Tredwell and Borthwick are two of five cricketers with England experience included in the squad, along with Bell, Warwickshire all-rounder Rikki Clarke and Durham bowler Graham Onions. Nottinghamshire’s Jake Ball and Essex bowler Tom Westley are also included having recently returned from England Lions duty in the UAE.

A combined MCC Universities squad and the MCC Young Cricketers will also be playing a number of fixtures in the UAE, and will provide 12th and 13th men for the full MCC squad.

Tom Westley and Surrey’s Rory Burns are both MCC University graduates included in the full squad.

The match will take place under the MCC Spirit of Cricket Banner and, following a request from Yorkshire, will be played in day conditions with a red ball. The Champion County match will be preceded by the Emirates Airline Twenty20 tournament on Friday 18 March, for which Sri Lanka legend Kumar Sangakkara will be part of the MCC squad. Tickets for the tournament, including hospitality brunch, can be purchased at Emiratest20.com/tickets.

John Stephenson, MCC Head of Cricket, said: “We have put together a squad with a great mixture of youth and experience that are capable of challenging Yorkshire, and I’m sure it will be an engaging fixture for everyone involved. In Ian Bell, we have one of the best England cricketers of recent years, and there is plenty of international experience throughout the rest of the group – as well as a number of young players with the potential to play for England. I’m confident our squad can do MCC proud, put on a good performance and uphold the Spirit of Cricket throughout the tour.”

The full MCC squad for the tour of Abu Dhabi and Dubai is as follows:

Ian Bell (Warwickshire, Captain), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Scott Borthwick (Durham), Nick Browne (Essex), Rory Burns (Surrey, ex-Cardiff MCCU), Rikki Clarke (Warwickshire), Ben Foakes (Surrey), James Harris* (Middlesex), Graham Onions (Durham), Kumar Sangakkara** (Surrey), James Tredwell (Kent), Tom Westley (Essex, ex-Durham MCCU).

*Champion County match only

**Emirates Airline Twenty20 tournament only

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *