#IPL: Delhi Daredevils - it’s time to live up to the hype!

PREVIEW: On cricketbadger.com over the next few days we preview the chances of each IPL franchise - here’s our appraisal on the chances of the Delhi Daredevils…

IPLadvertIn stark contrast to the Kolkata Knights Riders, who box above their weight, the Delhi Daredevils have disappointed, despite having world stars in their squads over the years.

They have never won the IPL despite featuring a glittering line-up that has included figures such as Virender Sehwag, Kevin Pietersen, AB de Villiers, David Warner, Aaron Finch and Glenn McGrath to name but a few.

The only member of the original group of franchises to have never made the IPL final, can 2015 be their year?

2009 in South Africa they reached the semi-finals before being smashed around by the Deccan Chargers, particularly Adam Gilchrist. Only one more last four appearance has been forthcoming since, in 2012.

Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh

They have finished bottom of the pile in both IPL6 and IPL7 with just five wins in 30 games during the last two seasons.

In 2015 they have gone back to the start. Yuvraj Singh has been drafted in as the most expensive payer during the 2015 IPL Player Auction and South African, JP Duminy, has been appointed by fellow South African coach Gary Kirsten to lead the side.

Yuvraj is fit and doesn’t lack motivation. He knows a strong IPL8 will generate calls for his recall to the Indian national side.

They have also purchased Angelo Mathews and Zaheer Khan. With Mohammad Shami and Imran Tahir retained for IPL8 they are not weak in the bowling department.

While Kedar Jadhav can be expected to perform consistently with the bat, the Daredevils will be expecting a lot of Manoj Tiwary and will hope that young players like Mayank Agarwal and Kedar Jadhav will go up a level and contribute when required.


Previous record: 3rd in 2009 and 2012, 4th in 2008.

The Daredevils are coached by Gary Kirsten. The South African has admitted to the media that he was ‘caught out’ by the intensity and requirements of his debut IPL last year. Perhaps he will be ready this time around?

Delhi have a tendency of letting their best players up and leave. Virhender Sehwag, now with Kings XI Punjab, is their highest run scorer. Morne Morkel has taken most wickets for the and now plays for Kolkata Knight Riders.

Following are some of the numbers that will help us realize why DD have underperformed overall. They have been over-reliant on individuals and now have let them go.

The Daredevils have won 42.78% of their IPL matches.



Daredevil’s skipper, JP Duminy, has a lot on his plate but a big appetite for success

JP was the leading run- scorer for the Daredevils last season. Given the captaincy he will have more on his plate this time around. He has a real opportunity to make a significant difference if he can balance his three roles with bat, ball and captain. The Daredevils have often been criticised for being a bunch of stars, but not a team. It’s down to Duminy to ensure they play as a collective unit in 2015.

ONE TO WATCH FOR - Zaheer Khan

Khan’s signing raised more than a few eyebrows. As a ‘one to watch’ the 36-year-old veteran speedster is someone we already know a lot about.

His performances in IPL8 however will come under serious scrutiny as he plays under pressure to back up his price tag.


Quinton de Kock did not nail down a regular place in IPL7, but has an opportunity this time translate his performances for the South African national team and his undoubted potential into match-winning efforts. The 22-year-old wicketkeeper is still finding his feet on the world stage and the Daredevils will hope this will be his watershed IPL.

Mohammed Shami bagged 17 wickets at the ICC Cricket World Cup and will be looking to carry that form into the IPL. Last season his record was poor - 7 wickets at 52.71 in 12 games.

Amit Mishra has the best economy rate of any Delhi bowler with just 6.91 runs coming from his overs bowled. He’s also the only Daredevils player to have taken an IPL five-wicket haul.

Imran Tahir took 15 World Cup wickets on pitches that didn’t give him much help. He was the Daredevils’ best bowler last year with 9 wickets at 19.00 and they will need him to be at his very best for IPL8.


Okay there have been changes and we wish them luck, but so many things have to fall into place to avoid the dire stuff offered up in the past two years, we just can’t see a Delhi challenge for the title.

A good season will be one where their win percentage rises and a more cohesive side emerges. IPL8 is a season of transition at best.


JP Duminy (capt), Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra, Yuvraj Singh, Imran Tahir, Quinton de Kock (wk), Angelo Mathews, Kedar Jadhav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Manoj Tiwary, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Agarwal, Saurabh Tiwary, Rahul Shukla, Gurinder Sandhu, Jayant Yadav, Chidhambaram Gautam, Shreyas Iyer, Domnic Joseph.

James Buttler

James Buttler

James has been working as a cricket journalist and broadcaster since 2006.
As the editor of Cricket Badger he is intent on building the website to give quality coverage of the domestic game around the world.
James was the full-time Media Manager at Yorkshire County Cricket Club between 2007 and 2010.
James is a published author and a writer/video contributor to many cricket publications.
He's unsurprisingly a complete cricket badger!
James Buttler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>