BBL|04 PREVIEW: World’s best set for Big Bash number four

A host of the world’s best T20 players are locked in for the fourth edition of the KFC T20 Big Bash League (BBL|04) after team squads were finalised yesterday.

A strong mix of short-format talent and entertainment will be on show over the school holidays after contracting across the League’s eight clubs ended yesterday.

Game-changers like Jacques Kallis (Sydney Thunder), Aaron Finch (Melbourne Renegades), Kevin Pietersen (Melbourne Stars) and Andrew Flintoff (Brisbane Heat) will take the field alongside the next generation of Australian talent.

Over the League’s last three seasons, a roll-call of emerging BBL players have gone on to represent Australia at the highest level, including James Faulkner, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ben Dunk and Cameron Boyce.

b6c281BBL|04 Team Contract Lists Snapshot:

  • 61 former or current Australian international representatives
  • 38 former or current Australian Test representatives
  • 20 International (non-Australian) Players
  • #1 ranked T20I bowler in the world – Samuel Badree (Brisbane Heat)
  • #2 and #3 ranked T20I batsmen in the world – Aaron Finch and Alex Hales
  • South Africa’s greatest all-rounder – Jacques Kallis (Sydney Thunder)
  • 11 former or current international captains: Johan Botha, Jacques Kallis, Andrew Flintoff, Kevin Pietersen, Daniel Vettori, Cameron White, Shane Watson, George Bailey, Brad Haddin, Michael Hussey, Eoin Morgan and Darren Sammy
  • Five members of the 2010 World Twenty20 winning squad (Michael Lumb, Craig Kieswetter, Kevin Pietersen, Eoin Morgan, Luke Wright)
  • Five members of the 2012 World Twenty20 winning squad (Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy and Samuel Badree)

BBL|04 clubs’ 18-player squad lists:

10-141011_strikers_logoAdelaide Strikers

Johan Botha, Jonathon Dean, Travis Head, Brad Hodge, Jon Holland, Michael Neser, Craig Simmons, Ben Laughlin, Trent Lawford, Tim Ludeman, Kieron Pollard, Gary Putland, Kane Richardson, Alex Ross, Chadd Sayers, Shaun Tait, Adam Zampa

*The Adelaide Strikers have been granted an indefinite extension to contract their 18th Player following the tragic passing of Phillip Hughes

brisbaneheat_thumb_lrgBrisbane Heat

Samuel Badree, Nick Buchanan, Joe Burns, Daniel Christian, Ben Cutting, Ryan Duffield, Peter Forrest, Cameron Gannon, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Chris Lynn, Alister McDermott, Simon Milenko, James Peirson, Nathan Reardon, Mark Steketee, Dan Vettori, Shane Watson. Overseas replacement player: Andrew Flintoff

hobart+hurricanes+logoHobart Hurricanes

George Bailey, Travis Birt, Cameron Boyce, Xavier Doherty, Ben Dunk, Evan Gulbis, Alex Hales, Ben Hilfenhaus, Joe Mennie, Dominic Michael, Tim Paine, Sam Rainbird, Jake Reed, Darren Sammy, Timm van der Gugten, Jonathan Wells. Two players still to be announced

renegades_logo_gallery0Melbourne Renegades

Fawad Ahmed, Thomas Beaton, Dwayne Bravo, Tom Cooper, Alex Doolan, Callum Ferguson, Aaron Finch, Jayde Herrick, Peter Nevill, Aaron O’Brien, James Pattinson, Nathan Rimmington, Ben Rohrer, Andre Russell, Matthew Short, Peter Siddle, Matthew Wade, Nicholas Winter. Overseas replacement player: Jesse Ryder

StarsLogo1-01Melbourne Stars

Michael Beer, Jackson Bird, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Luke Feldman, Peter Handscomb, John Hastings, David Hussey, Alexander Keath, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Kevin Pietersen, Rob Quiney, Clive Rose, Marcus Stoinis, Cameron White, Daniel Worrall, Luke Wright

perthPerth Scorchers

Ashton Agar, Yasir Arafat, Jason Behrendorff, Michael Carberry, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Brad Hogg, Michael Klinger, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, James Muirhead, Joel Paris, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Voges, Sam Whiteman

Sydney-Sixers logoSydney Sixers

Sean Abbott, Doug Bollinger, Ryan Carters, Trent Copeland, Benjamin Dwarshuis, Brad Haddin, Josh Hazelwood, Moises Henriques, Brett Lee, Michael Lumb, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, Stephen O’Keefe, Jordan Silk, Dwayne Smith, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc. One player still to be announced

sydthunder-1Sydney Thunder

Ahillen Beadle, Aiden Blizzard, Patrick Cummins, Jake Doran, Christopher Green, Chris Hartley, Nathan Hauritz, Daniel Hughes, Michael Hussey, Jacques Kallis, Usman Khawaja, Josh Lalor, Andrew McDonald, Eoin Morgan, Dirk Nannes, Kurtis Patterson, Gurinder Sandhu, Christopher Tremain. Overseas replacement player: Craig Kieswetter


James Buttler

James Buttler

James has been working as a cricket journalist and broadcaster since 2006.
As the editor of Cricket Badger he is intent on building the website to give quality coverage of the domestic game around the world.
James was the full-time Media Manager at Yorkshire County Cricket Club between 2007 and 2010.
James is a published author and a writer/video contributor to many cricket publications.
He's unsurprisingly a complete cricket badger!
James Buttler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>