LVCC PREVIEW: Maxwell To Start For Hampshire Against Worcestershire

There are some tasty matches in the tenth round of the LV= County Championship which kicks off tomorrow. Yorkshire host Nottinghamshire as they look to overhaul Middlesex at the top of Division One, while Division Two leaders Hampshire and Worcestershire face off at New Road. We preview all the fixtures.


Somerset v Sussex at Taunton

The last time these two sides met it was Somerset who came out on top by an innings over a Sussex side who were top of the table. How desperately Sussex need to win now to resurrect their title challenge after slipping to fifth. Somerset, meanwhile, know a win could see them go top. They should welcome back James Hildreth from paternity leave, probably at the expense of Alex Barrow.

Somerset squad: Marcus Trescothick (captain), Johann Myburgh, Nick Compton, Alviro Petersen, James Hildreth, Craig Kieswetter (wicket-keeper), Peter Trego, Craig Meschede, Alfonso Thomas, Craig Overton, George Dockrell, Jamie Overton, Alex Barrow.

Sussex will have to do without the England pair of Chris Jordan and Matt Prior, while Michael Yardy is out with a torn bicep.

Sussex squad: TBC

Warwickshire v Lancashire at Edgbaston

Both Warwickshire and Lancashire need victories to rescue their campaigns. The Bears sit sixth in the table and are without Ian Westwood, as well as England players Ian Bell and Chris Woakes. Jonathan Trott and Jim Troughton played for the second XI recently but are still not considered ready for selection. Laurie Evans, Jonathan Webb and Richard Jones are all included in a 13-man squad.

Warwickshire squad: Varun Chopra (captain), William Porterfield, Laurie Evans, Sam Hain, Ateeq Javid, Tim Ambrose (wicket-keeper), Rikki Clarke, Keith Barker, Jeetan Patel, Chris Wright, Boyd Rankin, Richard Jones, Jonathan Webb.

Lancashire have made one change to their squad from the draw last time out against Somerset. They have Jos Buttler available again. He has replaced Stephen Parry in the squad and could take the place of any one of Karl Brown, Alex Davies, Andrea Agathangelou or Steven Croft in the starting eleven. New overseas signing Usman Khawaja will arrive in time for the next match.

Lancashire squad: Paul Horton, Alex Davies, Karl Brown, Ashwell Prince, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Steven Croft, Tom Smith, Glen Chapple (captain), Kyle Hogg, Kabir Ali, Simon Kerrigan, Andrea Agathangelou, Wayne White.

Yorkshire v Nottinghamshire at Headingley

Yorkshire will fancy their chances of regaining their place at the top of the table. They are only five points adrift of leaders Middlesex, who don’t play in this 10th round of matches. They will have to do without England Test squad member Liam Plunkett, with his replacement likely to be Richard Pyrah or possibly even Josh Shaw. Ryan Sidebottom remains sidelined with a hamstring problem.

Yorkshire squad: Adam Lyth, Alex Lees, Jack Leaning, Andrew Gale (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Aaron Finch, Adil Rashid, Tim Bresnan, Richard Pyrah, Steve Patterson, Jack Brooks, Josh Shaw.

Nottinghamshire need to start winning if they are to mount a series title challenge. They are without England bowlers Stuart Broad and Harry Gurney, meaning that Luke Fletcher is set to start. Steven Mullaney is again likely to be 12th man after Alex Hales was given a chance at the top of the order - taking it in emphatic fashion - against Sussex.

Nottinghamshire squad: Phil Jaques, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, James Taylor, Samit Patel, Riki Wessels, Chris Read (captain, wicket-keeper), Peter Siddle, Ajmal Shahzad, Andre Adams, Luke Fletcher, Steven Mullaney.

Leicestershire v Derbyshire at Grace Road
The bottom two sides will play the game that was postponed at the start of the season due to the tragic car accident involving Derbyshire wicket-keeper Tom Poynton which claimed the life of his father Keith. The hosts are without in-form seamer Nathan Buck due to a finger injury, while Shiv Thakor and Ollie Freckingham are also injured. All-rounder Ben Raine, left-arm spinner Jamie Sykes and seamer Anthony Ireland are vying for Buck’s place in the final eleven.

Leicestershire squad: Greg Smith, Angus Robson, Ned Eckersley, Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain), Josh Cobb, Niall O’Brien (wicket-keeper), Rob Taylor, Jigar Naik, Anthony Ireland, Alex Wyatt, Charlie Shreck, Ben Raine, James Sykes.

Derbyshire have named the same 12 that narrowly escaped with a draw against leaders Hampshire. Mark Turner will this time hope to break his way into the final eleven.

Derbyshire squad: Stephen Moore, Paul Borrington, Wayne Madsen (captain), Marcus North, Scott Elstone, Alex Hughes. Gareth Cross (wicket-keeper), David Wainwright, Tony Palladino, Tim Groenewald, Mark Footitt, Mark Turner.

Worcestershire v Hampshire at New Road

The battle of the leaders takes place at Worcester with just four points separating the two sides. The hosts have had an unexpectedly brilliant season so far and are top of their NatWest T20 Blast group following Saturday’s win over Durham. They could hand a start to newly-signed batsman Richard Oliver, who has been rewarded for his prolific T20 form with a contract until the end of 2015.

Worcestershire squad: TBC

Hampshire have Glenn Maxwell available for this match after deciding to rest fellow overseas player Kyle Abbott. Michael Carberry returns from England duty after missing out on Test selection, while young leggie Mason Crane is included in a 13-man squad after impressing for the second XI. Joe Gatting misses out due to the return of Carberry, while David Balcombe will hope to push his way into the final eleven.

Hampshire squad: Jimmy Adams (captain), Michael Carberry, Will Smith, James Vince, Glenn Maxwell, Adam Wheater, Sean Ervine, Michael Bates (wicket-keeper), Matt Coles, Danny Briggs, James Tomlinson, David Balcombe, Mason Crane.

Daniel Grummitt

Cricket Writer at World Cricket Badger
Daniel first began writing about cricket in 2011, having been a fan of the game ever since his Grandad introduced him to it at the age of 10.

He worked for for almost three years, leading their county and domestic cricket coverage and contributing to a book about the 2012 ICC World Twenty20, before joining the hugely ambitious World Cricket Badger early in 2014.

The first Test that he remembers watching was on Channel 4 - back before the ECB marginalised potential future fans by selling the TV rights to Sky Sports - when England beat Pakistan by an innings and nine runs at Lord’s.

Besides a passion for domestic cricket, he also has an unexplainable interest in all things Zimbabwe cricket!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>