Ben Stokes and Wayne Madsen take Cricket Writers’ Club awards

Ben Stokes, the Durham and England allrounder, is this year’s recipient of the Cricket Writers’ Club Young Cricketer of the Year award. Derbyshire captain Wayne Madsen has won the William Hill County Player of the Year Award.

Second Test - Australia v Pakistan: Day 4Stokes, who was recently named in England’s winter touring party ahead of the Ashes series down under, has enjoyed an impressive 2013 summer. He has bounced back valiantly after being sent home in ignominious fashion from the winter’s England Lions tour for over indulging off the field of play. 

He bounced back to become an integral part of Durham’s Championship winning side, scoring 615 runs at an average of 27.95 and taking 42 wickets at 26.57. He becomes the first Durham recipient of the accolade.

Wayne Madsen, who led the Division One batting averages for most of the season despite his county’s eventual relegation, took the William Hill County Play of the Year award. The 29-year-old made 1,221 runs in Derbyshire’s ultimately unsuccessful battle against relegation from division one of the County Championship and was the first batsman to pass 1,000 Championship runs in 2013. He was the linchpin of Derbyshire’s valiant fight and finished as second-leading scorer in the top division, behind Gary Ballance of Yorkshire.

Madsen was recently announced as the inaugural winner of the Christopher Martin-Jenkins Spirit of Cricket Elite Award, created by MCC and the BBC to acknowledge exceptional sportsmanship, for walking during a crucial Championship match against Yorkshire.

In other news, Mike Gatting has been confirmed as the MCC’s 179th President.

James Buttler

James Buttler

James has been working as a cricket journalist and broadcaster since 2006.
As the editor of Cricket Badger he is intent on building the website to give quality coverage of the domestic game around the world.
James was the full-time Media Manager at Yorkshire County Cricket Club between 2007 and 2010.
James is a published author and a writer/video contributor to many cricket publications.
He's unsurprisingly a complete cricket badger!
James Buttler

One thought on “Ben Stokes and Wayne Madsen take Cricket Writers’ Club awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *